Skip to main content

 EOA Logo Main Page
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeMitchem/McNair Graduate Fellowship

     Arnold Mitchem/Ronald E. McNair Graduate Fellowship




The Arnold Mitchem/Ronald E. McNair Graduate Fellowship was founded and funded initially by the Wisconsin chapter of EOA. The award is to assist students pursuing Master’s Degree, Ed.D, or Doctorate Degree.  (It does not include terminal or professional degrees.)  Fellowship recipients will be designated as Mitchem Graduate Fellows. The applicant selected by the Chapter Scholarship Committee will be the recipient for that Chapter, no further review. 


One award of $1,000, the scholarship awards are distributed based on the existing Chapter rotation schedule.


The student applicant must meet the following criteria to apply:

  1. Be a current TRIO/EOP program participant during the scholarship award year;
  2. Plan to enroll in graduate school as a full-time student (minimum of 9 credits per semester or 12 credits per quarter) by the fall semester immediately following application competition (verification of enrollment will need to be provided in the fall if chosen as a scholarship recipient)
  3. Be a student whose goal is to obtain a master's and/or doctoral degree from an accredited college or university.

    *NOTE: Students enrolled in the following programs shall NOT be eligible: Law School, MBA Program, Medical School (except joint M.D/Ph.D. programs), Veterinary Medicine (except joint Vet/Med Ph.D. programs) and Labor and Industrial Relations (except joint LIR/Ph.D. programs)

  4. Have a minimum GPA of 3.2/4.0 in undergraduate school

The Nominator MUST be a current member of EOA at the time of the scholarship deadline. 


                           Mitchem/McNair Scholarship Recipients                          

  2020 Heather A. Dillion Mount Mary University SSS, WI
2019 Breanne Sande-Martin Augsburg University
  2018 Ana Hernandez Southern Illinois University McNair, IL Trevin Garcia Kansas State University McNair, MKN
2017 No recipient
2015  Justin Christopher University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH

Lee Yang University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse, LaCrosse, WI

Larry Davis University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

Siblee Salamon Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH

  2014 Audreanna Shannon Western MI University in Counseling Education/Psychology
  Amanda Moua  University of Minnesota - Twin Cities MSW Program 


EOA Foundation

The EOA Foundation provides scholarships and awards to TRIO and educational opportunity program students in the ten-state region served by EOA.


Membership Inquiries:
Technology Inquiries: