Skip to main content

 EOA Logo Main Page
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeBoard of Directors Scholarship

  EOA Board of Directors Scholarship


EOA Board scholarships are sponsored by the EOA Board of Directors.  Students are nominated by TRIO professionals in their respective chapters.

Chapter scholarship committees select the recipients and the scholarships are awarded by EOA Foundation (EOAF).  The number of EOA Board Scholarships varies each year, depending on financial resources.  EOA Board Scholarships are non-renewable. The student selected by the Chapter Scholarship Committee will be the recipient for that Chapter.  No further review occurs. 


One award of $1,000 to each state within the EOA region (See Handbook for Chapter rotation schedule). Ten $1,000.00 scholarships are available. 


The student applicant must meet the following criteria to apply:
  1. Be a current pre-college TRIO/EOP student within the EOA Region.
  2. Be enrolled, or anticipated enrollment for current high school seniors, in a two-year or four-year post-secondary institution for the next academic year;
  3. Have cumulative minimum GPA of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale;
  4. Demonstrate involvement in co-curricular or community activities; and

The Nominator MUST be a current member of EOA at the time of the scholarship deadline. 

                                    2020 Scholarship Recipients                                  

  Iowa                     Nadia Peinke  Iowa State University (Talent Search)
                            Illinois Lauren McCartney Oakton Community College (SSS)
Indiana Danielle Meyer-VonBank IvyTech Fort Wayne (SSS)
Kansas Daniel Zacapa  Kansas City Kansas Community College (SSS)
Michigan Joseph Day Grand Rapids Community College (SSS)
Minnesota Heather L. Goodreau North Hennepin Community College (SSS)
Missouri LaKenzie Bailey-House Avila University (UB)
Nebraska Lucia Castro  University of Nebraska-Kearney (SSS)
Ohio Tye R. Compton  Cincinnati State University (UB)
Wisconsin Cheyanne Grunow  University of Wisconsin-OshKosh (SSS)

                                    2019 Scholarship Recipients                                  
Iowa                   Lien Tran                         Briar Cliff  ETS
                        Illinois Levi Schaut Heartland College SSS
Indiana Martin Santos University of Southern Indiana SSS
Kansas Kayla Wortman
University of Kansas ETS
Michigan Katelyn Wybenga Western Michigan SSS
Minnesota Starr Ngyuyen North Hennepin CC SSS
Missouri Channa Goings Ozark Technical Community College VUB
Nebraska Teressa Wiles University of Nebraska Kearney SSS
Ohio Mohamed Najjar
Cleveland State University SSS
Wisconsin Jessica Martinez University of Wisconsin Oshkosh SSS

                                     2018 Scholarship Recipients                                  
Iowa Wesley Melendez Indian Hills Community College ETS
Illinois Sebastian J. Artega Carl Sandburg College SSS
Indiana Willow Crisovan Notre Dame UB
Kansas Jacob Rose

K-State Polytechnic SSS
Michigan Kimberly Thomas Bay College SSS
Minnesota Jessica Neppl Inver Hills Community College SSS
Missouri Brianna Roller Crowder College TS
Nebraska Amanda Harvey Nebraska Methodist College SSS

                      Wisconsin Amanda Vue UW Oshkosh SSS

                   2017 Scholarship Recipients                                  
                      Iowa Kevin Dong  Iowa Lakes Community College TS
Illinois Maria Morales DePaul University SSS
Indiana Jada Flowers
Marlan University UB
Kansas Linda Flores

University of Kansas SSS
Michigan Carlos Garcia Hope College UB
Minnesota Brook Moren
Central Lakes College SSS
Missouri Terren Jones Avila State UB
Nebraska Francisco Lopez Metropolitan Community College UBMS
Ohio Aja Labrador Kent State University McNair
Wisconsin Anna Steberg Marian University SSS

                                     2016 Scholarship Recipients                                  

                           Iowa Sadhika Patel Upper Iowa University ETS, Fayette, IA
Illinois Clyde Powell Eastern Illinois University SSS, Charleston, IL
Indiana Nathaly Diaz Ivy Tech Community College UB, Fort Wayne, IN
Kansas Madison Davis Wichita State University ETS, Wichita, KS
Michigan Jessica Sepulveda Western Michigan University UB, Kalamazoo, MI
Minnesota Jacqueline Molina St. Olaf College TRIO McNair/SSS, Northfield, MN
Missouri Le'Aysha Pearson Washington University, St. Louis, MO
Nebraska Jamie Drozd Central Community College SSS, Columbus, NE
Ohio Camille Calaam University of Akron, Akron UBMS, OH
Wisconsin Casey Hoffman University of Wisconsin-Eau-Claire SSS, Eau Claire, WI

                                       2015 Scholarship Recipients                                  

   Iowa  Ikram Omar North High School, Souix City, IA
   Illinois  Camilo Martinez Carl Sandburg College, Galesburg, IL
   Indiana  Elaha Rahimi Northrop High School, Fort Wayne, IN
   Kansas  Oscar Lemus Emporia State University, Emporia, KS
   Michigan  Cindy Ramirez Innovation Central High School, Grand Rapids, MI
   Minnesota  Charlene Stewart North Hennepin Community College, Rogers, MN
   Missouri  Briana Anderson University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, MO
   Ohio  Cara Walton Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH
     San Kay Thee University of Akron, Akron, OH
                           Wisconsin  Alyssa Valentyne University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, WI

                                       2014 Scholarship Recipients                                  




Rodriguez, NE 

W NE Comm




Rojas-Rangel, KS

       Emporia SSS    


     Porter, WI   

  Beloit UB  



Douglas, IN

  Purdue UB  




Counsell, IA

  Iowa State ETS  



Austin, IL

  Lake Land SSS  



Erickson, MN

Central Lakes SSS  



Escobar, MI

Grand Valley UB  

 McHenry, MO
Mineral Area SSS

EOA Foundation

The EOA Foundation provides scholarships and awards to TRIO and educational opportunity program students in the ten-state region served by EOA.


Membership Inquiries:
Technology Inquiries: